TEEN DRIVER'S: THE PARENT'S ROLE CLASS
Thursday, August 30, 2012 from 5:30 - 7:00pm
For more information click on the link below:
MCGREGOR HIGH SCHOOL
DRIVER EDUCATION GUIDELINES
Step 1. Student will complete the classroom instruction during the first quarter of their 9th grade school year with Ms. Hosna, Driver Education Instructor.
Step 2. Students passing the classroom instruction and those that have paid the $325 Drivers Education fee in full to Community Education will be eligible for his/her blue card (see Mr. Jacobs).
Step 3. Once student is issued a blue card from Mr. Jacobs; he/she may then proceed by scheduling an appointment to take the *Minnesota Permit Test at one of the testing sites around the state.
Minnesota Permit Test Requirements (must take to testing site):
Student must be 15 years old
Two forms of identification
Custodial parent must attend with student
* For testing sites around the state (Aitkin information below) and hours go to:
Aitkin Site Information
Step 4. Once the student has passed the Minnesota Permit Test, they need to see Mr. Jacobs or Ms. Hosna with permit to schedule Behind The Wheel lessons. (State law states that students may not take a driving test until they have had their permit for six months. This law will dictate when students will be scheduled for behind the wheel training.) Farm permits are exempt from this state law.
Step 5. Upon completion of Behind the Wheel Lessons, student will be issued a White Card that will be needed to take the License Road Test.
Step 6. Schedule your License Road Test. Be sure to consult the Driver Education Manual checklist for what is needed during the License Road Test.
***Note: Online Driver Education resources including an online copy of the Minnesota Driver’s Manual: